Evolutionary points for babylonJS

Hey guys,

So as I have been using BabylonJS for over 2 years now ( amazing engine! Great work!! ) I was having a couple of ideas running through my head which I think are worth discussing.

First of all, the Babylon.GUI library. Great library, I have used it on every project, however, it is a little bit hard to work with in Javascript. I was thinking that it would be awesome if we could use XML as a markup language and then translate it to Javascript. I have in plan to make something for my projects but maybe it makes sense library level?

Second, I think Babylon is the greatest 3D html5 gaming engine around, I truly believe it and I think it deserves much more exposure and usage. A barrier many developers face is the lack of assets. Not everyone can make 2D or 3D assets, the assets which are online most likely are not optimized for the web or would not work well with Babylon. How about an assets store? Babylon is already an html5 3D gaming ecosystem, maybe an assets store would really help people join. It could be anything, from scenes to animated 3D models or GUI and they can be tested right away through the sandbox.

These are just a couple of ideas running through my head and I thought to share them with you. Let me know guys what you think about them.

Cheers!

3 Likes

It does a lot!. Just wondering if XML is the right language. What about json? Better, more complciated? what do you think?

Can’t agree more :smiley:

We initially started a tiny repo for that but that requires much more energy that what we can invest on. I could encourage people to check Google Blocks or Sketchfab websites to get 3D content

3 Likes

I agree JSON is a much more “native” way of doing it, it’s also easier and faster to parse, but XML is more clean to designe layouts in my opinion. JSON works too though!