How to make a semi-transparent glass ball with a through hole with albedoTexture?

I am trying to make a glass ball with a through hole using CSG. For transparent glass not using albedoTexture it works fine as shown in this playground: https://playground.babylonjs.com/#KJ2GLK#4

However, when I try to apply albedoTexture (uncomment line 23 in the above playground) to make it a semi-transparent ball, I also had to enable linkRefractionWithTransparency (uncomment line 26) for the albedoTexture to take effect, but when I do that, the hole will be completely invisible which is not realistic. I tried to use opacityTexture as well (uncomment line 28 and 29) but it still did not produce the desired effect. I am new to BabylonJS and 3d modeling in general so trying to get some help from the experts here on how to properly do this.

Thank you for your help in advance!

1 Like

Hey welcome aboard! :slight_smile:

Something like this?

added:

pbr.backFaceCulling = false

changed:

var sphere_with_hole = sphereCSG.toMesh("sphere_with_hole", pbr, scene, false);
    pbr.alpha = 0.4;    

r. :vulcan_salute:

Thank you very much, turning off backFaceCulling may help a little however I feel it looks more realistic if refraction is enabled, when refraction is disabled it does not look like a solid glass ball.

But the biggest question I have is, how can I apply albedoTexture to the ball and still be able to see the hole, even partially. Any thoughts?

1 Like

Do you have a picture of what you would like to achieve?

Something like this, glass ball with texture but also able to see the hole if there is one. Thank you!

Look at this small demo I created half year ago. I think we can use the node material I created for the diamonds in your project as well:
https://babylonjs.nascor.tech/diamond-sphere/#/