Japanese Lamp and Babylon practice

Hi guys,

Normally I am a pure 3D artist and I almost never play with the code editing except for materials and render settings. I basically have 0 knowledge in HTML/JS/CSS.
As I had some free time this week, I decided to create my first complete Babylon scene from scratch to enhance my knowledge, in order to gain some autonomy about scene creation. Usually my good friend @Vinc3r is taking care of most of the coding part.
I started with a simple Japanese lamp scene, which I did following a Blender/Unity tutorial to push it into Babylon.
About 3D specs, it has been made in Blender, using Cycles to bake the lightmaps, and I used Photoshop and Shader Map Pro for the textures.
I tried my best to play with lightmaps integration, post-process effects and other Babylon cool stuff. It’s still a WIP and I don’t know where I am going with it :smiley:

The current scene is here

And a little peak about it :

21 Likes

This is extremely beautiful!

1 Like

Amazing work! The particle effect really makes the scene come to life.

1 Like

Thanks to both of you.

In my todo list, I want to redo the switch and its wire and to set up properly the starting camera angle. I also need to create a play/pause system for the music (and find a real Japanese track, not a Chinese one).
And, if possible, to find a trick to start the particles system only when all the other assets are loaded. :face_with_head_bandage:

You could try using the async loader with promises to wait for everything to load before starting the particles.

Something like this should do the trick.

var loadLamp = function () {
    return new Promise((resolve, reject) => {
        BABYLON.SceneLoader.LoadAsync('', 'your/file/url', scene).then(function (asset) {
            resolve(asset)
        })
    })
}

loadLamp().then(startParticles())
3 Likes

Thanks, I will give it a try.

That’s a really beautiful scene!
Great work!

1 Like