Load GLTF with .basis (not KTX2)

Hi everyone,

I am new to Babylon and currently working on loading the gltf file produced by our asset team.
And the problem I am facing is the gltf contains .basis file in the “images” node and the loader is not loading them correctly. I did test .ktx2 instead of .basis and it was loading correctly. Unfortunately we can’t use .ktx2 because it is still too big compare to .basis file (from our pipeline, the .ktx2 files are 3x larger than .basis files).

The gltf looks like this:

"images": [
        {
            "name": "camera_camera_Normal",
            "uri": "camera_camera_Normal.basis"
        },
        {
            "name": "camera_camera_BaseColor",
            "uri": "camera_camera_BaseColor.jpg"
        },
        {
            "name": "camera_tripod_BaseColor",
            "uri": "camera_tripod_BaseColor.jpg"
        },
        {
            "name": "camera_tripod_Normal",
            "uri": "camera_tripod_Normal.basis"
        },
        {
            "name": "camera_camera_Roughness",
            "uri": "camera_camera_Roughness.png"
        },
        {
            "name": "camera_tripod_Roughness",
            "uri": "camera_tripod_Roughness.png"
        }
    ],

Playground 1 with the png images - Babylon.js Playground
Playground 2 with the .basis compressed images - Babylon.js Playground

You can see the playground 1 is loading correctly with all the details but playground 2 isn’t.

The examples I can find are about loading the basis files directly but in our case, they are embedded in the gltf file under the “images” node.
Is there a way to load the .basis files correctly if they are in the gltf file?

Thank you for your help!

1 Like

Hello @evanwg and welcome to the forum! Maybe @bghgary has an idea

2 Likes