Locked target camera and user interaction

Hello there,

I would try to explain what I am trying to achieve the best I can.
For the website of our web agency, we want to make a virtual tour of our workplace.

To do so, we create a FlyCamera following a path along a Curve3 which locked target is a small Mesh following another Curve3. Both objects move at the same time in an AnimationGroup. Everything here is working fine so far.

Fact is, we would want to have some kind of user interaction on the camera according to the position of the mouse on the screen. Letā€™s say if the mouse is in the center, the camera should directly point the target. All the way left, and the camera should rotate a bit to look left of the target, and so on with top, right and bottom.

First try was to rotate the camera according to the mouse position but this really did nothing as the locked target seems to prevent any other control on the camera. But as I am new to Babylon I might have done something wrong.

Second thought was to cheat a little by rendering a bigger canvas (150vh, 150vw) and setting up a bigger fov on the camera to move the canvas to simulate user interaction in the scene. This stutters and anyway, the result does not seem ā€œnaturalā€ enough.

Now I am asking for your advices, how would you realize something like that ? Is it even possible with this set up?

Thank you in advance,

Hi S! I LOVE this topic. https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#1YD970#120

Thereā€™s a testing playgroundā€¦ not like a building-with-roomsā€™nā€™hallways scene, but itā€™s still something to play-with. It has a ā€œcarBodyā€ which travels the path, it can be set visible or not, it can be used as a camera parent or position plotter, but NOTEā€¦ this car does not pitch and yaw based-upon the path. It should be used for POSITION only, not direction-settingā€¦ so parenting camera to car, is likely not useful.