LOD as billboard multiplies root scale with billboarded LOD object

I’m not a coder on this project, but an environment artist. With our current setup, I have no issues using ordinary non-billboard LODS that are scaled independently of the root. That is to say, if LOD0 (root) is scaled by 3.0, and so are LOD1, LOD2, LOD3, etc. Everything is fine. They all follow the root scale. HOWEVER, if I set one of those to billboard, suddenly the billboard object will be 3 times as large as all the others when LOD is enabled, despite them all being set to the same scale. Sure, I can set the billboarded LOD to 1.0 and it will work, but when you are making hundreds to instances, etc in blender, trying to come back and clean that up later can be an undertaking and appear incorrectly in blender. I would usually expect the billboarding to behave identically to the non-billboards as far as scale goes. The coder and I spent a long time trying to figure out why this is but they are not treating billboarding any differently, so we are thinking perhaps it’s a babylon bug. Thoughts? I linked to the LOD portion of our repo. Perhaps there is some insight. Inspector says we are on v6.4.1

link to repo

Are you able to setup a small repro in the Playground?

It’s probably a bug, but we would need a simple repro to be sure!

1 Like

I’ll see if I can get them do that and report back shortly.

I’m attempting to create a repro here but cannot get the model to even show, any ideas? Babylon.js Playground

You can use scene.createDefaultCamera to automatically create a camera that will encompass the whole scene:

Thanks! I got the repro working, you can comment out billboard to see the original size, but you’ll notice how billboarding LOD3 causes the scaling issue to happen. https://playground.babylonjs.com/#B4H112#2

Thanks for the repro.