Looking for a light and quick way to animate people and animals

I started playing 3d graphics with a Spectrum … many years ago. I had to use the z80 assembler to build a rudimentary 3d engine … I spent the nights there.
There was also no multiplication and division in the machine instruction set.

Resource saving training has affected my way of imagining solutions. Resources are huge for me today. After a year of training with Babylon the scene around my first old steam locomotive has started to slow down … too many things, too many details … The old philosophy of saving has taken over.

Having to populate railways…
https://forum.babylonjs.com/t/italian-railways-from-the-1950s/27609?u=libero51
and surroundings, I started evaluating skeletons and blender editors. Too many triangles, very sophisticated moving vertex interpolations (blender), I need to animate many small meshes looking at them from afar … I have to save resources and go fast.

I took an alternative route trying a solution that allows me complete control. I am a fan of Chaos Theory and brainstorming … I am interested in hearing your considerations …

My little … people and animals

1 Like

@PatrickRyan and @PirateJC are our animation people so they might now some tricks for saving resources on animations :smiley:

AH! This seems like this could be an EXCELLENT candidate for the new Vertex Animation Textures coming with Babylon 5.0.

Adding @brunobg to this thread as he is the mastermind behind it and can tell us more about it.

Essentially (as I understand it) it allows you to store animation data in textures and give it entirely to the GPU to handle, saving valuable CPU cycles.

1 Like

As a child my mother sewed the shapes of my puppets and filled them with scraps of wool … A tailor applies a flat weave to his client model … A difficult job … Maintaining the relationship between the 3d vertices and those of the 2d texture involves a careful choice of the 3d vertices to be cloned at the seam points.