Render to cubemap

Hello Babylon community,

I would like to invoke a ShaderMaterial on a cubemap face. Is there an example how to do that?

I should mention that I’m quite new to Babylon, I have no experience with custom post processing pipelines.

So far I have been doing rendering into a texture the following way:

• I created a ground mesh with very few vertices.
  • Im using a vertexshader which translates the uvs into a screen aligned quad.
  • I’m adding the ground to the renderList of the renderTexture.
  • I use renderTexture.setMaterialForRendering() for assigning the shader material to the ground.

I wonder if rendering to a specific cubemap face fits into this process somewhere.

Many thanks
Helmut

This is what we do in our prefiltering tech for environment texture: Babylon.js/hdrFiltering.ts at c599fb01de51ab3eba031c8d1d3c609351e8aa23 · BabylonJS/Babylon.js · GitHub

Basically you need to create a cube texture and bind the required face before rendering into it.

Hello sebavan,

thank you very much! Thats pretty much what I was looking for.

Basically I was missing this part:

for (let face = 0; face < 6; face++) {
            effect.setVector3("up", directions[face][0]);
            effect.setVector3("right", directions[face][1]);
            effect.setVector3("front", directions[face][2]);

for (let lod = 0; lod < mipmapsCount; lod++) {
                this._engine.bindFramebuffer(outputTexture, face, undefined, undefined, true, lod);
                this._effectRenderer.applyEffectWrapper(this._effectWrapper);

The only missing bit for me is the relations between BaseTexture, the InternalTexture and the ThinEngine, but I try to figure this out on my own first before I bother someone with that :slight_smile:

Thanks
Helmut