Roadmap to develop a 3D configurator

Hi all,

I’m new with Babylonjs and I would like to develop a 3D pallet configurator, similar to this:

https://palletizer.rocketfarm.no/projectdata?step=0

I would like to make it to look nice and modern and I would like to have a little bit of guidance about how to start developing it. I thought something about like this:

• Learn basics of Babylonjs (follow documentation): setting up a scene, importing objects, camera movements, drag and drop objects…

• Setup the UI: probably with React as it is a framework I know. Make a mult-step form like UI.

• Import the scene into the UI and learn how to link the events of the UI with the scene.

Do you think it’s a good aproach to the problem? Do you recommend me following another path or modifying it?

Thanks in advance for the help.

Looks like a really solid approach. Let us know of your progress :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi,

Looks like a good approach. I started with babylon.js 2.5, but I knew React first as well. It will be essential for you to first go through the basics. The configurator in that example is really basic and the image doesn’t change when parameters do, so likely that is something you will improve on.

I would imagine getting 90% of the way there will not be too much effort and then things like stretching textures and maybe a need for parametric 3d models may arise. I would probably worry more about those afterwards. A strong grasp of models, meshes and “scale”/stretch will help, but even potentially how textures are mapped and even UV mapping. Another skill that is helpful is 3d modeling (ie: Blender), but will further steepen the learning curve.

If your choices are limited there are some ways models can make things easier. ie:
glTF/extensions/2.0/Khronos/KHR_materials_variants/README.md at main · KhronosGroup/glTF (github.com)

here is an example:
WebXR - E-Commerce Demo | Babylon.js Playground (babylonjs.com)

Good luck - show us your progress if you can.