Save material variation in gltf

Hello,

We are looking for a way to store material variations in one single gltf file, the goal is to be able to change the material of the model after the model has been loaded. From what we have read, it seems to be possible to do that in the gltf format but unfortunately, no gltf exporter includes that feature (We are working with Maya).

The one solution we found would be to use an extra mesh, like a basic plane, which will use the other material so that it is indeed exported in the gltf and then we will be able to play with it in BabylonJS.
We can’t manage the solution manually by creating a server folder with the different material variations in it as it won’t fit with our clients need and will take too much time to set up.

Has any of you already had this issue? What would you advise us to do?

Thanks a lot for your help, Pichou

Hi PichouPichou,

I’m no expert, but I believe I’ve heard @PatrickRyan talk about this as a common issue artists deal with when trying to have multiple materials for the same model. If it’s the same issue, I believe the “standard” solution is exactly what you described: create a tiny primitive hidden somewhere in the model that effectively serves as a “swatch” preserving the desired material so it can be programmatically applied to real geometry when the model is being used. If there are other nuances or options to be considered, Patrick will know them; but in general, as I understand it, the solution you’ve already found is the best and most common way to work around this issue.

1 Like