Set rotation of PhysicsBody (Havok) programmatically

Hello!

(I’m a novice when it comes to graphics programming, so please bear with me. I’m a pretty experienced web dev, but my only brush with 3d graphics is a basics course in university over 5 years ago.)

I’m building a sort of a Legoman type of character, whose legs rotate forward and backward, with their pivot points close to the waist/torso.

This image shows how the Legoman’s legs should rotate:

I’d like to control the rotation of the legs programmatically, because I want them to move in relation to the waist/torso ONLY if I press a key (as opposed to them flapping around whenever they hit something). I also want to enable physics for them, i.e., they should collide with other meshes, and when they hit something they should transmit the impulse/force to the rest of the Legoman, if that makes sense.

My approach was to create a PhysicsBody with MotionType “DYNAMIC” for the legs, and connect them with a 6dof constraint to the waist/torso. I was then hoping to control the rotation with leg.physicsBody.transformNode.setTargetTransform(), e.g., I’m expecting the following code to add 1 degree of rotation to the leg:

const transformNode = leg.physicsBody.transformNode;
const position = transformNode.position;
const rotation = transformNode.rotationQuaternion;
const rotationToAdd = BABYLON.Quaternion.RotationYawPitchRoll(new BABYLON.Vector3(0, Math.PI / 180, 0)); // This might be the wrong way to add 1 degree of pitch to a quaternion, but I've tried multiple other ways too
const targetRotation = rotation.multiply(rotationToAdd);
leg.physicsBody.setTargetTransform(position, targetRotation);