Use the Image Filter BJS Control to "colorize" an image that will become a PBR metallic texture

It’s been several months since I posted a question, and I hope that the community is as amazing as it was in the past.

I want to take an image that will become a PBR material metallic texture and programmatically create five versions of it, each version progressively more hue slanted towards red (and therefore more metallic). It seems to me that the new BJS Controls, and Image Filter specifically is perfect for this. We’ve actually also been looking for a fast/simple abstraction layer to do this kind of 2D hue/saturation/luminosity image processing in the WebGL space for performance reasons, so it looks like BJS Controls could be very useful for us, and we’re excited about them!

While I can do some basic BJS/PBR stuff, I have NO 3D or Shader experience. I’ve been trying to follow the instructions, which are really quite nice, for a few hours and am not getting there. I’m not clear on what npm dependencies I would need for this context, and whether I need a post-process effect. I also have no idea what the Shader code to remap RGB channels would look like. any suggestions, playgrounds, or posts would be much appreciated.

Thank you so much for continuing to make this amazing platform even more incredible! What your tram has accomplished in the last year is just really just tremendous!

Warmest regards,
Preston Williams

Pinging @sebavan

Hello I ll try to send over a quick example a bit later today :slight_smile:

Tremendous, thanks so much!

Here is a simple example reusing babylonjs image processing post process and the controls project:

import { Engine } from "@babylonjs/core/Engines/engine";
import { ImageFilter } from "@babylonjs/controls/dist/src/imageFilter";
import { ImageProcessingPostProcess } from "@babylonjs/core/PostProcesses/imageProcessingPostProcess";

import "@babylonjs/core/Loading/loadingScreen";