Babylon 2D - For easy 2D canvas interaction

I was working with the somewhat painful CanvasRenderingContext2D API and thought wouldn’t it be wonderful if this was enjoyable? As I have some experience working with the API, I would like to work on making a 2D engine for Babylon. The 2D engine would be completely decoupled from the main engine. What do you all think?

1 Like

well we kind of have something along these line with GUI: The Babylon GUI | Babylon.js Documentation (babylonjs.com)

1 Like

This may work, though I feel as if it is too complex and is not a full engine. Regardless of my opinions, it is comprehensive and working fine - maybe I will make my own 2D engine. Thanks!

Maybe something like Assyrian JS, since
“… Assyria was one of the two major Mesopotamian kingdoms, alongside Babylonia …” (Wikipedia)

You could have a look at https://pixijs.com/ or https://phaser.io/ which are focused on 2d - babylon does 3d well and it’s probably better to be a great tool for one use case than a mediocre tool for two

1 Like

What about people who want to learn Babylon but don’t want to start in 3D? Unity devs have to run that gauntlet, why wouldn’t Babylon devs?

1 Like

You mean with Unity 2D?

Unity employees 5000 - 10000,

Babylon.js core team around 10

I think @Pryme8 was already working on that, haven’t seen any update in a while though :thinking:

Yeah, but we have the better community :grinning:
Go Babylon, go :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:

1 Like

This I agree with. However community members have their own interests and are very unlikely to get involved with a major team project. Should community member @Vortex want to produce a 2D version of Babylon.js and others want to help him all well and good.

Completely agree with this and moreover it should stand apart and probably not come under the remit of the Babylon.js

for this reason