Confusion with PBR + Bug with inspector?

Hello everyone!

I am quite new with PBR material - it’s really awesome! At the moment, I think I am struggeling with the correct textures, especially the color channels and their switches with roughness / metallness.

This is what I am trying to achieve:

I made a greyscale and normal version for the polishing,
I cannot show here because of the new user restriction, but you will see them in the playground.

I created an appropiate UV Map for the object.

So far so good. What I struggle with is: I think I would need a correct metallness / Roughness map for the lighting and/or antristophic light? I think I will be able to create Red/Green/Channel maps with layers in Affinity Photo - but so far I am lost… it looks “ok” with albedo texture but I just used it to test the UV mapping.

Questions:

• What do you masters of the pbr think should be done to get better effect? I tried bump, but I don’t think its correct since it’s not acutally uneven material
  • Is there a way to let the shadow not get specualar at all? It gets lightened like it’s not there from the environment

Of course I got a playgound for you to just tweak some values and not build anything:
https://playground.babylonjs.com/#QRFGGJ

Addition regarding inspector:
Unfortunately in my case the inspector simply “closes” when I try to play with my PBR Material “Stand” / “Shell” … is this a knowing bug? Whats wrong?

pinging @PatrickRyan :slight_smile:

Hi Deltakosh,

you answered questions of me like 4 years ago! Glad to see you are still active! :slight_smile:

I think this is a small pretty example for PBR and someone might have fun helping me :slight_smile:

This is the error raised by the inspector, when inspecting one of my materials:
babylon.inspector.bundle.js:26 Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property ‘clone’ of undefined
at new t (babylon.inspector.bundle.js:26)
at Xa (babylon.inspector.bundle.js:46)
at si (babylon.inspector.bundle.js:46)