Game worlds creation questions

Hi all.
I’m new to browser game development.
In last days i remained stuck on a question for which i can’t find the answer. I would like to create a huge world for a strategy game. Where do i start ?
I read about the heightmaps but how can i generate them ?
How can i apply all the textures like terrain, mountains, rivers ecc. ?
How are the performances ? Is babylonjs able to handle such things ? I see many browser strategy games have a 2d world. Is 2d better for these kind of games ?
Thanks.

1 Like

Hey and welcome!

I would recommend checking this work by @jerome which could be a good starter:

2D or 3D are more about you. What do you want to do. Both can work.

And get prepare for a long journey: what you want to achieve will be cool but maybe complex sometimes

2 Likes

Hi and thanks for the link.
How are these detailed worlds i see in games are made ? Do they create the heightmap first and then cover it with a texture ?
What tools do you ususally use ?
Strange thing is i don’t see many information around for this. Maybe i should look at games made for pc first with unity or unreal ?

I would recommend that you read this: The World of Warcraft Diary by John Staats — Kickstarter

It is an insanely cool book about how they built WoW. You gonna learn about the ton of tricks thy used :slight_smile:

4 Likes

How can i choose the best combination of ground width, height and subdivisions ?
More subdivisions means i can make a more detailed terrain, right ?
What is the impact on performances ?
Thanks.

there is no good answer unfortunately. you will have to test and see how it goes.
also it may change on a per device basis.ore detailed here and less detailed there based on frame per second for instance

1 Like

We need more info. :grin:.

It depends on what type of world you imagine.

For example, do you want infinite map or 3D world?

Jerome made a great infinite map - and there are others like @nasimiasl with his Geometry Builder.