How to Optimize Performance in Complex Babylon.js Scenes?

Hi everyone,

I’m relatively new to Babylon.js and have been thoroughly enjoying exploring its capabilities. However, I’ve hit a bit of a roadblock when it comes to optimizing performance in my more complex scenes. I’m hoping to get some advice from the community on best practices and techniques to ensure smooth performance.

Background:

I’ve created a scene that includes multiple dynamic lights, several complex meshes, and a few post-processing effects. While it looks fantastic, I’ve noticed significant drops in frame rate, especially on less powerful devices. I’m aware that Babylon.js is quite powerful and should be able to handle complex scenes efficiently, so I’m sure there’s something I’m missing or could be doing better.

My Current Setup:

• Meshes: About 50 complex meshes with high polygon counts.
  • Lighting: 5 dynamic lights, including spotlights and point lights.
  • Post-processing: Using Bloom and Depth of Field effects.
  • Textures: High-resolution textures applied to most meshes.

Questions:

1. Mesh Optimization: What are the best practices for optimizing high-poly meshes in Babylon.js? Should I be using level of detail (LOD) or something similar?
  2. Lighting: How can I efficiently manage multiple dynamic lights? Are there specific settings or techniques to minimize their performance impact?
  3. Post-processing: Are there ways to optimize post-processing effects, or are there certain effects that are more performance-friendly?
  4. Textures: How should I handle high-resolution textures to avoid performance bottlenecks? Is there a recommended resolution limit or a way to dynamically adjust textures based on device capabilities?
  5. General Tips: Any other general tips or tools within Babylon.js that could help with performance optimization?

What I’ve Tried So Far:

• Reducing the number of active lights, which helped slightly but not enough.