Improving playground search

I’ve been finding playground search very slow and it sometimes just times out. As a beginner I rely on search a lot to find solutions to some common problems so that I don’t have to spam the forums :slight_smile:

Are there any plans to improve the performance? I am willing to give it a try if you are looking for some extra hands. See the results below for a simple Title search for “maze”:

1 Like

cc @RaananW

I am pleased that other than the speed you find the playground search useful. Besides the issue you raise, and it is particularly slow for a search in Title/Description, there are other issues due to the open nature of the playground. The open nature is always going to make it difficult to get accurate search results.

For example compare the first playground of #KNE0O to its later playground they have little in common.

Also because when you delete or make a new playground the metadata seems not to be deleted you get many playgrounds with the same metadata but totally unrelated. So I would add to your feature request that delete/ new PG should delete metadata.

For example take the title Dynamic Texture Example (but do not do a Title search for it, you are better doing a search in TAGS for ‘dynamicTexture, JK’)

Among what you get is

only #5ZCGRM leads to the original PG and luckily the current latest on #5ZCGRM#3733# does deal with the title as do #5ZCGRM, #5ZCGRM#1, #5ZCGRM#2 then only occasionally do #3 to #3732 take you to anything to do with dynamic texture if they work.

The only other one in the start of the search listing, as shown in the above image, that has anything to do with dynamic texture is #8GWAHN.

Going through the full search listing, of the list of 18 no more than 5 have anything to do with dynamic texture

Having pointed out some of the problems with the PG search I do believe that the open nature of the playground has more benefits than detriments.

2 Likes