Is it possible to create a material and save it as a single file and then apply it to the mesh?

Hi guys,

I am new in BabylonJS and I have just started experimenting with some examples.

I have a question regarding the materials. Is it possible to create materials as in Unity3D where you create a material, you set the shader and then you apply the textures ?
I need to create a material as a single file which can be applied directly to the mesh.
I need to store the materials to the mysql database and then retrieve them one by one and directly apply them to the meshes. So far I am just storing textures on the database and that works fine but instead of textures I want to store materials so I can apply the material to the mesh.

Does Babylon support such a feature to save material as a single file or is it possible to achieve this at all in a different way ?

Thank you in advance.

Regards,
Gerald

I would do this ->
create a file for your materials (in it you create your materials and define which textures and configure what each one must have).

Put it in the same js scripts folder. associate it with your index.html

and in your main script you can define the material you want for each ā€œknitā€ object you make.

box.material = ā€˜name of the materialā€™;

You can also create a ShaderMaterial which uses texts to create its shaders:
https://doc.babylonjs.com/how_to/shader_material

And thus you can save the shader texts in your DB.

Other option is to create a regular material and save it like that:

var savedMaterialText = JSON.stringify(material.serialize())

To reload it:

var newMaterial = BABYLON.Material.Parse(savedMaterialText, scene, urlToResources);
1 Like