Learning for a beginner - what should I start with? (a lot of questions)

Hi! I am a high school student looking to learn about 3D graphics. My only coding experience is a Java class that I am almost finished taking, although I am fairly proficient at the language and am good with programming logic and theory. I also have a tiny bit of JavaScript experience. So - down to my questions:

1. Where is a good place to learn JavaScript quickly, so that I can move onto learning babylon? (So far I have been using PluralSight)
  2. Where is the best place to learn babylon? From the documentation site? I found this book, is it worth buying even though it is for V2.5?
  3. If I am looking to eventually make a simplistic web game, is this the right library to learn? Should I use something different? (Like three.js)

I know this might not be the right place, but Iā€™m having a hard time figuring out where to start. Any guidance would be appreciated :slight_smile:

Hello and welcome to the forum!

You have quite a task ahead of you, as there is far more to learn than javascript. Itā€™s essential that you understand the DOM, as well as how to manage DOM objects using JQuery. Master these, and youā€™re good to go.

The best resource I have found is to use the tutorials at https://www.w3schools.com/ which are free and thorough.

I would also read through as many posts on the old forum first Questions & Answers - HTML5 Game Devs Forum to build a foundation using the 5 years of questions which will provide you with a road map of the development of the babylon.js framework. Be sure to view every playground scene on the old forum, as this will answer most of your questions.

Then post what questions you might have on this forum when necessary. Good Luck! :grinning:

Galen

1 Like