Lightmap not working

Hello, I’m new to BabylonJS.

I can’t get lightmapping to work. I exported my glb from Blender 2.92, the model has two materials applied to the faces. Each have their own texture, one of them has a mapping so it’s repeating. I used the background node for the materials, which is supposed to make them unlit however I’m a little unsure about all that since there seems to be multiple ways of doing it and the gltf-examples from the official repo uses an emission node setup for unlit materials.

The export materials are setup like this for my model:

My model has two UV sets. The lightmap should use the second one.

https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#X46925#10

Hope someone can help me out here :slight_smile:

adding our Blender wizard @PirateJC

Hey @martin - Welcome to the Babylon Family! It’s great to have you here!

How are you exporting to .glb from Blender? Is it using the built in exporter?

I’m pretty positive that the built-in exporter only supports PrincipledBSDF materials. From what I can tell in the images, it looks like you’re using other materials including the mix shader, which I’m fairly sure does not export using the built in exporter.

There is also a community maintained Babylon.js exporter for Blender that you can check out. It’s maintained by @JCPalmer who can likely provide some more info on what types of materials it supports in Blender.

You can find info about the Babylon.js exporter here: Blender to Babylon.js exporter | Babylon.js Documentation

Hi @JCPalmer , any insight on this one?

https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#X46925#14

This seems to be working. I’m trying to multiply the lightmap with my unlit material. The lightmap is in srgb color space btw.

I have never done anything with material.lightmapTexture, which includes the exporting of it. I think that way you are baking it yourself, and load / assigning at run time is the best approach.