Loaded model doesn't look right

Hi all.
I’m trying to load a model (purchased from CGTrader) in Obj format into Babylon and it’s not looking as awesome as the demo model, which looks totally amazing!

Screenshot of the demo model on left and mine at right. I played around with the lighting, but doesn’t seem like i’m doing this quite right. Any tips for making the model look more like the demo? Seems like I have problems with shadows + edges in the ocean textures. Would love a pointer on how this is usually done (newbie here).

thanks so much!

I think you should focus on getting those UVs or textures sorted first, as that just looks wrong.
If you want to get closer to that look, I think you should convert your mesh to flat shaded, use proper lighting. Not a hemi light, or at least one with very low intensity together with a proper directional or spot light. A light/shadow map would do wonders as well, although the demo seems to be using dynamic shadows as well. Have you tried using the shadowgenerator with an algo supporting self-shadowing?

Thanks for the response. I’m a javascript pro, but new to 3d modeling, so am going to need to study up on your pointers here. I did get the water texture working properly on a sphere created from scratch… but was hoping that a stock model would ‘just kinda work’ - lighting and shadows and all - without too much tweaking. That is a naive assumption, I take it?

Here’s the water texture on a brand new sphere ^. Looks good, but seems nuts that i would need to re-create the stock model piece by piece, right?

Try checking if disabling UV optimization helps at all:

BABYLON.OBJFileLoader.OPTIMIZE_WITH_UV = true;

I’m sure the object is textured properly, especially if it loads into an engine like Blender without issue. But there’s a few other OBJ loader toggles we expose:
https://doc.babylonjs.com/how_to/obj

I know it sucks, but I would find another set of models to achieve what you’re after.