Mapping Oculus Quest 2 Buttons

Hi,

I’m a newbie with babylonJS and VR in general. I tried to map the button of my oculus quest 2 using this sample :
https://playground.babylonjs.com/#0IBX3Y#1

but no button is detected.
Any idea ?
Thanks Michel

adding @RaananW

Hey,

this example uses WebVR and the WebVR experience helper which is deprecated and is not recommended at all. Have you checked our WebXR support?

Thank you very much.
I had not found these pages.
The example given in webxr controllers support section almost works :slight_smile: The joysticks are still associated with the movement of the camera, but this already helps me a lot.

you can disable the camera movement by disabling the teleportation’s rotation feature

I have a question related to controller buttons, but probably not worth a separate topic. Is it possible to make buttonDown & buttonUp states for the onButtonStateChangedObservable, in addition to pressed? I would add those if it were possible, but do not want to chew up a lot of time just trying to figure out whether it can be done or not.

Just for me to understand, what is the difference between pressed true/false and buttonUp/buttonDown? (BTW - the states are coming from the API, not defined by us. We can add states though)

I guess just semantics. I was looking for 2, but that should work. For really good integration, I probably need start doing something every frame in between while down, but that is app level.

i would prefer to keep the api as clean as possible. if pressed true/false is enough, it will be the best to use it this way

1 Like

The WebXR environment is working with the Oculus Quest 2 but only when launched within the playground. Do you have any idea how to make it work as a “standalone” page ?
I imagine there is a kind of polyfill used with the playground ?

It should, of course, work in any environment.

The playground is not special in any way. No polyfill or special code is incorporated there to make it work.