Particle System effect in the white background environment

Hi

I’m a newbie to particle system.
It’s pretty cool. I can’t wait to give it a try.

At first I saw this example in the babylonjs document
https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#08YT34

However when I try to make it display in the white background, it somehow turns out too light to see the particles ?
(I simply add this to the example
scene.clearColor = new BABYLON.Color3(1, 1, 1);
)
The playground is as shown below
https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#08YT34#5

Does anyone know how to make good particle effects in the white background environment?

Many thanks

Hello and welcome!
This is because by default particles are in add mode (so white + particle color = white):
https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#08YT34#6

Many thanks for solving my problem!

Hi @Deltakosh

Have a one more question

When I change the texture pic to this with alpha outside of the particle and set the particle system to BLENDMODE_STANDARD mode

However it seems not as shiny as the original example in the dark environment. Do you recommend any kinds of method to add the emissive color part ?

1. May I adjust the emissive color of particles?
  2. May I add the glow layer to each particles ?

Thank you so much

flare2

It will never be able to look as shiny on a white blackground. This is mainly a perception thing here due to the contrast with the white background. Would you happen to have a target you want to reach in term of style so that we could find the best way to achieve it ?

Hi @sebavan
This effect is kind of cool for me
https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#MX2Z99#15

Would it be possible to apply this kind of effect(material or emissive color…) to each particles in the particle system?

Thank you so much

1 Like

This works mainly due to the accumulation of particles so it would not be a per particle possibility. Now let s summon @PatrickRyan who is crazy about particles :wink:

1 Like