ReflectionTexture in a viewpoint-based mesh

Reflection Texture on a mesh

Hi, first of all, thank you for taking the time to read my post. I’m new to Babylon.js and I’m currently working on a project where I’m trying to achieve something similar to this. I’m trying to understand how the reflection CubeTexture works on a custom mesh so, I’ve exported a custom mesh from Blender to Baby, the mesh is the interior of an apartment with several walls, similar to the link provided.

What I understand until now, is that the material of the mesh projects the CubeTexture and in order to prevent the projection from getting deformed, it must be moved with the translation of the reflection. I’ve attempted to implement this, but I haven’t been able to achieve the expected results here is the playground. It’s the same code from this post, but with some assets changed. With this context the my question is: What am I doing wrong? And what concepts do I need to understand to achieve a result similar to the first link?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!

I think this post may help:

Thanks, actually is that I’ve seen that post, from there I got the code I used, but I don’t get the same results, maybe there is something I don’t fully understand, I’m stuck.

Hi @eCodant, your reflectionMatrix is not right <=> it should represent the center of your skybox <=> the camera position. I’m not sure the geometry you provided match with the CubeTexture because I tried to find it but this is the best I could do (see L46) :sweat_smile:

Good luck !

1 Like