Using Custom glTF as a Navigation Mesh

Hello,

I am fairly new to Babylon, so I just started experimenting with Navigation Meshes.

In particular, I am interested in using the mesh in the context of the XR teleportation feature.

As I noticed that all the related PGs use a .babylon format, I was wondering if it is also possible to use a custom .glb/.glTF asset for this purpose?

I have had no luck with my attempts so far, so thank you for any hint or info.

1 Like

This is a pretty good question and I guess our friend @Cedric will be the best to answer as soon as he ll be back from vacation next week :slight_smile:

Might also be relevant for @RaananW given the context of the WebXR teleportation feature.

2 Likes

Hi @danilopasquariello Happy new year!

It’s possible to use any mesh (or an array of meshes) for the navigation. But, because navigation needs more information than just the triangles, you need to compute the navigation mesh anyway.

In this documentation, the navmesh is computed with primitives but it will work the same way if you use meshes coming from a .gltf.

Then, you can query the nearest valid point on a navmesh for teleportation using getClosestPoint

1 Like

Hi @Cedric, thanks for this! Been working with @danilopasquariello on this vr navigation/nav-mesh stuff.

I do know that relative to passing in a navigation mesh built with your nav mesh tool into the XR helper, I was able to successfully achieve that just now as demonstrated in this playground, where I just pass the navmeshdebug into the floorMeshes array of the xr experience helper: https://playground.babylonjs.com/#HFY257#83