WebXR with iOS in BabylonReactNative

Hi!

I am new to BabylonJS but have been working with AR and VR for a couple of years through Unity and Viro.
I am currently trying out BabylonJS and BabylonReactNative in particular. I want to use it for AR, and read that OpenXR is used to make that happen.
Now, this could be me misunderstanding, I thought that iOS wasn’t supported through that. But the app runs fine on my iOS device.

Then I read that ARCore and ARKit are used for AR in BabylonNative and BabylonReactNative and they’re going to switch over to OpenXR in the future. This all got me very confused since all the classes have the WebXR prefix to them, so I figured it might all just be a webview with BabylonJS running in that.

Now, am I just misunderstanding WebXR and OpenXR here? What powers the AR in BabylonNative and BabylonReactNative? And if it’s indeed currently ARCore and ARKit, is iOS support going to be lost once it’s switched over to OpenXR?

Any clarification would be greatly appreciated!

1 Like

pinging @ryantrem

Hey @HedwigAR, happy to clear things up here!

Babylon.js in the browser provides an XR (AR/VR) API that is built on top of WebXR. If you want to have XR in a mobile app using Babylon.js, at first you might think you could just host a WebView, but in reality this is not a solution because 1) WebXR is not supported by Safari or the iOS WebView and 2) WebXR is not supported in the Android WebView. There are many reasons to use Babylon Native rather than hosting a WebView, but certainly getting XR support is one of them.