What hardware has helped you a lot?

Hey~All. Since I started learning babylonjs .My laptop without a separate graphics card really makes me impatient.
So a powerful independent graphics card is obviously very important. I’m curious about what hardware everyone uses.

1 Like

I d love a 3090 but it is overkill :slight_smile: but you know…

3 Likes

a 1060 and a 1080 for years
and that’s still more than enough

3 Likes

Disclaimer I am not a hardware expert this is just my opinion.

So I am a gamer…so …I’m also on overkill with a Alienware. I know I’ve been teased a lot about prebuilt but it just takes the hassle if something were to go wrong in the machine. That said if had this machine for about 4 years now and I can see the wear starting to show so maintenance is important if you’re going to be doing a ton of graphics.

For Babylon you don’t need a killer graphics card… (can’t say the same about 3D modeling software :wink: ) Remember it runs on mobile!

Tangent on this I think monitors are also important. Being able to have 2 for example one to your work and the other to debug side by side can do wonder! Especially if you have a ton of files open.

4 Likes

I’m currently working with my… 4 year old (I think) 1060 and for most of my purposes it’s still chugging along! I do agree with @msDestiny14 that a graphics card (and a nice amount of RAM) will probably be more important if you need to do 3D modeling. And also agree that peripherals are underrated, being comfortable in the space where you work is very important. So two monitors, a comfy chair, maybe even an ergonomic mouse are also nice investments.

6 Likes

+1000000 :slight_smile:

4 Likes

I use a gaming mouse for vscode keybinds

4 Likes

For me it depends a lot on what I’m working on. If you are doing VR then there are noticeable differences.