Babylon Toolkit (Unity Exporter) shortcomings

Hi,

Question specifically for @MackeyK24, which might end up being useful for others as well:

I’m pretty new to Babylon and I’ve tested the Babylon Editor, but in my experience it’s super buggy (at least the macOS version). And coming from some years of Unity experience, your Babylon Toolkit seems like a perfect solution.
I’ve got a middle - big project to tackle and from the features listed as supported on the toolkit it seems that everything I need is there. So the actual question: What are the Toolkit’s shortcomings ? I’m asking because while researching I’ve found this from you on an issue posted on the Toolkit’s Github repo:

FYI… I was loosing my motivation to continue the Babylon Toolkit (Cant get folks to help me code out a few things to make it really work)

So i started on a new project. Making a Next Gen Scene content exporter using industry standard GLTF with Extra Unity Metadata. I get so much better results converting unity content using the GLTF 2.0 spec than i did using the Babylon Entities DLL

As well here in the forums you’ve replied to a topic about exporting shadows:

basically for now… I would just create a script component and setup the Shadow Map Generator yourself in your script component… I know it sucks, but that all i can think of for you to do WITHOUT my new Pro Toolkit (Which is not ready for public yet… Sorry)

So, what’s not really working with the exporter ? Is it just about exporting things like shadows out of the box ? Because if it’s about things like that and those things can be overcome by accessing directly Babylon’s API, then the Toolkit is still an incredible useful tool.

Would’ve loved to offer my help with it, but it seems you’re about a year into working on the project that’s going to replace it eventually.

Thanks a lot,

Bruno.

Hello and welcome!

1 Like

Yes… I’m still supporting the Babylon Toolkit. I am still kinda working on the new version that is GLTF based.