Carve out sections of an env, which is just being used for scenery

I wanted an environment texture used for a skybox, not a reflection texture. Only a section will ever be seen, like on the outside of a window where you cannot go out, so all of the detail outside can be black.

If you go to sites like poly haven, they have multiple resolutions 1, 2, 4, 8, 16, & 24k. The big ones are massive. If I settled on only needing 2 vertical sides, would the be any savings by clearing out the top, bottom, and other 2 sides? If so, how would it be done?

Sorry to answer my own question. A cube texture is both limited in size and it would not matter if there was any non-black detail.

I just took a really big one & processed it through the texture tools. Basically the same size as a much smaller version. Looks same in BJS too.

I think I need to try some kind of curved screen approach, like

I am not that good with Blender’s UV Editor, but hopefully can make an image appear real. If so, in addition to higher detail, this also has the advantage of a much large, and honestly better selection.

@JCPalmer : How about parts of a hemisphere shape? I used a hemisphere with a texture I converted from an HDRI to a jpg on this example:

Graveyard

The texture out in the distance is on a hemisphere.

Stay safe, gryff :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thanks. So, I could save half the size or more, and have much higher detail. Did you just make a take a sphere, cut it in half & flip the normals?

I am actually using it for the background on a balcony, so I would want to do a vertical chop as opposed to horizontal. If you got close, you could look up or down, but never see the other side.

A quick search of hdri to jpg got me a number of online options. One I have apparently visited before.

I took an 8k hdri (80 mb), down to a jpg of (6.1 mb) from a site named convertio.co. I cropped it then saved a 533 kb jpg / 3156 kb png. The png size is what it will be in gpu. Improvement was dramatic.