My PBR render is far from expectation

I am trying to make beach sand using PBR for better visuals. I have made a few textures that are added here to this post. I suspect one or more of those textures is causing the weirdness, but it could also be code related since I am new to babylon.js. Please let me know whether I need to work on the texture or the code? what is the problem here?

FIY: the look I am going for is more like the “albedo” itself, but with all the details, reflections and height maps.

Here is the render result:
render

Playground:

Hi and welcome to the Community,
You wouldn’t happen to have a picture of ‘your expectation’ at hand?
And then, without a PG it will be hard to tune it correctly. Don’t you have dropbox or git or any other allowed external sources?
Else, I can may be download the files for you and set-up the PG.
First thing that strikes me is how you assign some of these textures. Like the normal as a detailMap (with no normal). The reflectivity as a specular and then there are no levels set for either of these, starting with metallic which I believe for rocks would need a bit of a change on levels from the defaults. You’re also using PBR without an environment (except for that mostly black specular for reflectivity), and that sure doesn’t help either.
Well, let me know if you manage to set-up this PG or not and we’ll see how we can improve this.
Meanwhile, again, welcome to the forum and have a great day :sunglasses:

4 Likes

Hi Mawa,

Thank you for the suggestions. I have updated my post with a playground. As far as the “expectation”, I am looking for the albedo texture itself, just with the PBR features and not the pixel-like image.

LoL, didn’t think you would make it in time (my apologies :wink:)
Meanwhile, did set-up another base for you.