Some animations are shown in 3DsMax but not exported with the Babylon gltf exporter

Hello,

We are making a furniture configurator with Babylon.js. This was previously a Unity project, so we have hundreds of assets previously done, in FBX format. We export them loading them in 3DsMax (v2024, I think) and using the Babylon exporter plugin (v20230922.2) and sometimes animations work and sometimes not. It seems there are more possibilities of failing if there are several animations/animations groups (sometimes it only plays one of them), sometimes it works “cleaning” the file (removing objects from the 3DsMax file), but sometimes it simply doesn’t work.

I don’t provide a code demo because it even fails dragging it to the babylon playground/sandbox, to keep apart my handling of the loading, that could be buggy (I’m new to this).

I link (my user cannot attach yet) one of the simplest non-working .glb:
https://cdrepo.cdinvest.es/configurator-assets/forum/JR-3760_brainbuilder_armrest.glb

And the source 3DsMax file (where the animation can be seen working properly):
https://cdrepo.cdinvest.es/configurator-assets/forum/brainbuilder_armrest.max

If we convert the animations with the Facebook tool (FBX2glTF) we have a greater rate of success with animations being present, but geometries fail more and sometimes they have glitches. The Babylon plugin works much better on the geometries.

I’m quite new to 3D in general, more even to Babylon, so I can’t be 100% sure that it is a bug, but the fact that some files can be seen moving in the sandbox when we convert them with FBX2glTF but not with the exporter is what makes me think it is a bug.

Thanks,
Jaime

Did you try to open FBX in Blender and save as GLB?