Terrain for first person game

Hi,

I am new to BabylonJS, but I worked with other libs and frameworks before. I would like to start a first person adventure game / walking simulator project and I am wondering which technique I should use for the terrain rendering.
Currently, I am reading through the documentation and examples. I found the dynamic terrain section in the documentation. If I understand it correctly, it uses heightmap information in order to generate the terrain.
I am unsure whether this is suitable for designing a game world and placing entities in a level editor. My alternative idea would be to sculpt a terrain in Blender and import it (in this case I could also place my entities in Blender and export the positions to a scene file). However, I am afraid that one single big model for the terrain would harm the performance, since a terrain of that size (let’s say round about a square kilometer) would need some kind of LOD handling for parts that are further away (like mountains). On the other hand, it would allow me to sculpt caves into the terrain (in contrast to a pure heightmap solution).

Does anybody have any advice for me? Is there anything that I could use in order to dynamically load chunks of a big terrain model, or any hints how I could design a dynamic terrain (as in the documentation) and integrate it in some kind of scene editor?

Best regards and thank you in advance,
Carsten

1 Like

Hi there, welcome to the Babylon community! Your question about walking simulators is super relevant, since @syntheticmagus is working on “golden paths”, i.e, helping developers produce certain kinds of experiences, and a walking simulator is on the list of future golden path posts. :smiley:

But for now, there are a few discussions about dynamic/endless terrais that might be useful:
Dynamic Terrain extension, How to make infinite terrain? - Questions - Babylon.js (babylonjs.com)
Strategies for large terrains - Questions - Babylon.js (babylonjs.com)