Ktx2 texture displayed black on android phone

ktx2 texture is displayed black on android phone but everything is displayed fine on desktop.
How to fix it?
https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#WP9WDU#137

ping @bghgary

Seems like a bug. I can repro on my phone also. Can you file an issue on GitHub?

unfortunately I can not

You realize that we are doing the work and you can use it for free right?

I believe asking you to help by creating the issue is not an expensive ask

I would love to help you, but I don’t know how, I’m not a programmer

Basically you could copy the description and PG link from your first post and then add a little more info about the device, browser, etc. (it will tell you what info is needed). That would help them track and fix it for us. :slight_smile:

1 Like

I added

2 Likes

It looks like this texture is too big for mobile devices. The texture has dimensions of 16384x8192. For mobile, it is probably better to stay below 2K.

2 Likes

Yes, the problem was in the resolution of the file.

I tested several resolution options:
pano_4x2k.ktx2 works well
pano_8x4k.ktx2 black screen
pano_16x8k.ktx2 black screen

but it works in jpg format
pano_16x8k.jpg works well
pano_8x4k.jpg works well

Due to the large size and resolution of jpg files, I thought about compressing, but it turned out that this does not work for high resolutions.
I’m trying to make a 360 panorama viewer and photo resolution below 8k gives not very good quality.

pano_4x2k.ktx2:

pano_8x4k.ktx2:

pano_8x4k.jpg:

pano_16x8k.jpg:

1 Like

Is there a big visual difference on mobiles between 8K and 2K textures?

What kind of compression are you using for ktx2? ETC1S or UASTC?

windows command line:
toktx --encode uastc --uastc_quality 1 --uastc_rdo_l 1 --zcmp 1

yes, the difference is not very noticeable on the phone, but if you zoom in, you can see the low quality of the texture
I just wanted to make the highest possible quality.