Scalable door model with scalable number of boards

Hi, I need help, I’ve been looking for a solution for some time. I have to make a 3d door model so that it can be scaled in height and width. But with the change in width, the number of boards in the door must also change.
An example of the door below in the picturehttps://assets.reno-reno.pl/media/2019/08/Drzwi-przesuwne-DUET-front.jpg

So either you have only planks and you procedurally generate the door (might be slow) or you scale up to a certain point where you add a new board an continue like this.

I am no artist at all so ping @PatrickRyan who will have way deeper insights.

@raxon, the sample you showed has a couple of issues with scaling and I want to understand the guide rails of your implementation before offering a solution.

• First, are you creating the door with 3D geometry for the vertical boards, horizontal boards, crossing boards, etc. or are you using texture for some of them and geometry for others (like a textured plane for the vertical boards and geometry for the horizontal and crossing boards to show silhouette change)?
  • Are you instead creating the whole door as a plane with a texture that needs to scale to the width of the door?
  • Do you have some other solution different than the ones above?

The texture for the vertical boards is easy in that you can use a tiling texture for just the vertical boards and scale the UVs of the plane to match the scale of your door which will change the number of boards in the door. Even the horizontal boards could be done this way as the tiling texture will look correct.

The main problem is the crossing boards. They need to change their angle based on the width of the door. This is the crux of the challenge here so that is why I am interested in how you are creating the geometry of the door. Let me know if this doesn’t make sense and if you have a playground that illustrates what you are making, I’d love to see it.