Setting ambientColor and environmentIntensity have not effect

Hi All

So im still a noob so please forgive my learning baby steps.

I bought LYS to make a .dds HDRI , im loading it and it works, i used createDefaultSkybox and I could see it there. I did also set scene.environmentTexture so it should be used for IBL.

I loaded a glb i created in blender and targeted one mesh in it and set the material to a PBR material , this works and if I change the albedoColor or roughness or mettalic I can see the changes happening. I can also see the HDRI in the reflection so it is affecting the material rendering.

What does have me stumped is as mentioned in the title , setting ambientColor or setting environmentIntensity does not have any affect , the mesh material looks exactly the same. What am i doing wrong here??

(ps another bizarre aspect of this test is that when I set the material the normals get all messed up? Why does setting a different material have any affect on the face normal direction? that should never be happening The normals are fine when the glb loads , after I set this material it looks like the get inverted , although it looks like it does invert them totally … if someone could explain why this is happening i would be grateful )

Here is the code :

var testMaterial = new BABYLON.PBRMetallicRoughnessMaterial("testMaterial", scene);
       testMaterial.environmentTexture = hdrTexture;     
       testMaterial.albedoColor = new BABYLON.Color3(1, 1, 1);
       testMaterial.metallic = 0.105;
       testMaterial.roughness = 0.08;
       testMaterial.environmentIntensity = 0.1;
       testMaterial.ambientColor = new BABYLON.Color3(.5,.5,.5);
       testMaterial.backFaceCulling = false;
       mesh.material = testMaterial;

cheers

here are some screenshots :

nochange