The Volumetric Lighting post process is just showing a blank square

Hi all, I’m new to Babylon JS and the forums so please let me know if I’m doing something wrong :slight_smile:

I’m attempting to use the BABYLON.VolumetricLightScatteringPostProcess to create some light shafts, as shown in this playground example: Babylon.js Playground

I have copied the code straight out of this example, apart from the variable names, and placed it into my scene. This is the result:

The white square nestled in the leaves of the tree is the default billboard of the VolumetricLightScatteringPostProcess. However, instead of having a glow like in the example above, it is just a blank square.

Here is the section of my code invoking this process for reference:

// Volumetric Lighting.
let volumetric_light = new BABYLON.VolumetricLightScatteringPostProcess('volumetric_light', 1.0, camera, undefined, 100, BABYLON.Texture.BILINEAR_SAMPLINGMODE, engine, false, scene);
volumetric_light.mesh.position = new BABYLON.Vector3(7, 25, 20);
volumetric_light.mesh.scaling = new BABYLON.Vector3(10, 10, 10);

And here are the parameters I’m using to construct my engine, scene, and camera:

// Engine.
let engine = new BABYLON.Engine(canvas, true, { preserveDrawingBuffer: true, stencil: true });

// Scene.
let scene = new BABYLON.Scene(engine);

// Camera.
let camera = new BABYLON.ArcRotateCamera(
	"arc_cam", 							// Name.
	Math.PI / 2,						// Alpha.
	Math.PI / 2,						// Beta.
	6,									// Radius.
	new BABYLON.Vector3(-1.2, 12, 40),	// Target.
	scene								// Scene.
);
camera.lowerRadiusLimit = 6;
camera.upperRadiusLimit = 6;
camera.lowerAlphaLimit = Math.PI / 2.9;
camera.upperAlphaLimit = Math.PI / 1.55;
camera.lowerBetaLimit = Math.PI / 2.4;
camera.upperBetaLimit = Math.PI / 1.75;

After a couple hours of googling, I’ve turned up no useful answers to this problem.
Has anyone else encountered this same issue? Does anyone know how to fix this?